Friday, May 22, 2009


New HHF Trustees, Officers Elected at 35th Annual Meeting May 21

HONOLULU: Ray Soon was elected as President of Historic Hawai‘i Foundation on May 21 by unanimous vote of the members at the 35th annual meeting.

Soon is President of Solutions Pacific, an independent consulting firm that provides culturally sensitive and actionable planning and project implementation services to private and public sector companies in Hawai‘i and the Pacific. He has an undergraduate degree in planning from the University of Hawaii and a Masters in City Planning from Harvard University. He served for nine years on the President’s Advisory Council on Historic Preservation, whose role is to advise the Congress and the President on historic preservation issues, and to work with the Department of Interior in overseeing the implementation of the National Historic Preservation Act.

Soon is a founding board member of the Council for Native Hawaiian Advancement, is the Chairman of the Board of Hawaiian Homes Technologies and sits on the boards of Ho‘okako‘o Corporation, PILI, Inc, and the Advisory Council of the Queen Liliuokalani Children Center. He has served on the board of Historic Hawai‘i Foundation for five years.

Historic Hawai‘i Foundation’s members also elected the following to serve on the Board of Trustees:
· Carl Carlson, President, Hu‘ehu‘e Ventures, LLC
· David Cheever, President, David Cheever Marketing
· Greg Chun, President, Bishop Holdings Co.
· Eric Crispin, Assistant Vice Chancellor for Financial & Physical Management, University of Hawai‘i at Mānoa
· Anna Grune, Preservation Architect, Mason Architects, Inc.
· Robert Iopa, President, WCIT Architecture
· Timothy Johns, President & CEO, Bishop Museum
· Samuel Lyons, Director, Haleakalā Ranch Company
· Curt Nakamura, General Manager, Topa Financial Center
· Robert Nobriga, Senior Vice President & Chief Financial Officer, Hawai‘i National Bank
· Lorraine Minatoishi Palumbo, President, Minatoishi Architects, Inc

Historic Hawai‘i Foundation also elected new officers at the annual meeting. The new executive committee is comprised of:
· President: Ray Soon, President, Solutions Pacific;
· First Vice President: Michael J. O’Malley, Senior Partner, Goodsill Anderson Quinn & Stifel;
· Second Vice President: Stanton Enomoto, Special Assistant to the Administrator, Office of Hawaiian Affairs;
· Secretary: Lea Ok Soon Hong, Hawaiian Islands Program Director, The Trust for Public Land;
· Treasurer: Robert Nobriga, Chief Financial Officer, Hawai‘i National Bank;
· At Large Officer: Norbert Buelsing, President, A&B Properties
· At Large Office: Robert Iopa, President, WCIT Architecture
· Past President: Timothy E. Johns, President & CEO, Bishop Museum

Historic Hawai‘i Foundation is a membership-based 501(c)(3) charitable organization that preserves and encourages the preservation of historic sites on all the islands of Hawai‘i. More information is available at

Kiersten Faulkner
Historic Hawaii Foundation